You must be at least 18 years of age or older to marry without parental consent. You will receive your marriage license immediately after you submit your application. Copyright © 2019 - All Rights Reserved. If neither partner are residents you must apply for your license in the county where the marriage will take place. The Adult Probation Department makes that determination.
Check with the county clerk's office about how many justices of the peace officiate weddings locally. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online kit. For criminal cases telephone 419-213-4700, for civil cases telephone 419-213-2001, and for juvenile cases telephone 419-213-6951. While we strive to keep our listings up to date, please note that there may be an occasional error or omission. Complete and print this form prior to arriving for easier processing. Witnesses are not required by law to sign the license. If you are under age 18, you, and your parents or guardian, must reside in Lucas County to obtain a marriage license in Lucas County.
Where do we need to go? Please include a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your request and allow approximately 2 weeks for processing. How old must we be to get married in Ohio? Office hours are Monday through Friday from 8:30 a. In addition, translation of any foreign document must be provided. Cousin Marriage Can I get married to my cousin? A female under the age of 16 or a male under the age of 18 must also have a Juvenile Court order granting consent to the marriage. Pay the marriage license fee to complete the process. No, the Court House is closed on weekends and all legal holidays.
You should be prepared to provide information about your previous marriages. If applying in person, cash is accepted and the certified copy will be issued while you wait. Include the name of the bride and groom, including the bride's maiden name, the date of marriage and the number of copies you are requesting. Walk-in Applications The fastest way to get a copy of your marriage license in Ohio is to drop into your local probate court. In the state of Ohio, justices of the peace are readily available to perform marriage ceremonies and meet the needs of engaged couples. Go to the Lucas County Probate Court website at for more information. The Wedding Vendors website explains that in some counties a couple can get married at the courthouse directly after the marriage license is obtained.
It takes 1-3 days for the Journal Clerk to receive the original order from the courtroom. Yes, however costs can vary and change due to additional court appearances, new journal entries on the case, additional motions filed or other costs. A birth certificate may be necessary to show proof of age. For Civil Cases contact our Civil File room at 419-213-4083. Lucas County does not require any tests such as blood tests or physical examinations as part of the marriage license application. Most Health Departments provide online ordering forms to request marriage records.
In the case of divorced parents, the custodial parent must have proof of custody. . Light refreshments will be served. If the bride is older than 16 but younger than 18 years old, both parents of both the bride and groom must be present at the County Probate Court to give their consent when the applicants file for their license. Numerous ways are available to have a wedding officiated in Ohio.
Blood Test Requirement Ohio: Blood tests are no longer required in the State of Ohio. Court appointed attorneys are never free. What if one or both of us is younger than 18? For your convenience, please use the link to the on-line Payment Portal found on the Criminal Division Page. What other documentation does the Lucas County Probate Court require? Marriage Waiting Period Ohio: There is no waiting period in Ohio. We charge 10 cents per page. Are there other tests that the Lucas County Probate Court requires when we apply for a marriage license? The Lucas County Probate Court will issue your marriage certificate after your marriage license has been returned to the Court and recorded.
In some cases, the date of the wedding will need to be flexible depending on the schedule of the justice of the peace. Additionally, be prepared with your parents' birth names and the name of the person who will marry you. Some counties might require you to fill out a copy request form; check the county website for details. Contact the Lucas County Probate Court if you have questions about who is authorized to solemnize your marriage. If one parent is deceased, a copy of the death certificate must be provided.
Marriage Laws website explains that the couple will need to provide specific documentation including birth certificates and tax information in order to get the marriage license. The Lucas County Probate Court Marriage License Office is located on the first floor of the Lucas County Court House, 700 Adams Street, Toledo, Ohio 43604. Marriage License Fees Ohio: The marriage license fees varies from Ohio county to county, so call ahead to your local office to find out the fee and ask what form of payment is accepted. Follow the instructions on-screen to order a certified copy of your marriage records. Bring a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. Once it expires, it can no longer be used to get married. To contact a city prosecutor use the link Which Court is Mine.